Around The League



Regular Season Standings

Overall Standings


Pro Bowl

Play-off Bracket

Player Of The Week

Player Stats

1998 Awards

The Draft

Bye Weeks

Scoring System

Stat History

Hall Of Fame

Head to Head Records

Weekly Breakdown

Past Seasons

The Surge Win And The
Penguins End Their Run

Congrats to the Surge who were eventually named Fantasy Bowl II Champions. In a season where the final week wasn't calculated till mid summer, the Surge came out ahead of the Penguins when the dust cleared by a score of 129-108. John Elway's 42 point performance in the Fantasy Bowl sealed it and ended the Cinderella story of the 7th seeded Penguins. It also ended the Penguins bid to have the championship trophy renamed "The Mark Polley Trophy." However, one trophy did manage to get renamed as the Diamonds won big over the Attack in the Toilet Bowl. So now, the Toilet Bowl trophy will be forever dubbed "The Mike Pearcy Trophy." The Stars didn't have the biggest names on their team, but they managed to beat the Flip in the Bronze Bowl. The Rage went from worst in the league in 1997 to West division champs in 1998. Lead by league MVP Steve Young all season, they finished with a win over the Central champs, the Cheezmen. The Peanuts edged the Spirit in the closest bowl game, 83-80, making the Spirit 1998's most overrated team. Offensive player of the year Terrell Davis put up 31 to give the Extreme a Scrub Bowl victory over the Wolfpac. If 1998 did anything for FFL, it set a trend, as the Penguins failed to repeat as champions and showed that it would be hard in this league to win more than one championship.